Latestremote

September 22, 2026 · 7 min read · LatestRemote Editorial

Indeed vs LinkedIn vs ZipRecruiter on Employer Pricing, Cost Per Hire and Where to Post

Hiring for a fully-remote role while you weigh this up? Post it here for $199 a month, salary range shown, employer verified by hand, read by an audience that wants nothing but remote work.

All three hide the price, but they hide it in different places, and that is what should decide which one you open first. Indeed hides it in an auction, so your cost moves with whoever else is bidding on your job title this week. LinkedIn hides it in a seat, so the real expense is a recruiter's hours rather than the ad. ZipRecruiter hides it in a quote, so the number is fixed once you get it but you cannot see it before you talk to sales. Only ZipRecruiter is legally obliged to disclose what it actually collects, and it collects about $556 a month per paying employer.

If the role you are filling is fully remote, a listing here is $199 a month with a salary range on every post and no auction to watch. See what posting costs or read on for the full three-way comparison.

What each one costs an employer

Here is every published and credibly reported figure in one place. The only column any of these companies is compelled to stand behind is the ZipRecruiter row, because it comes out of an SEC filing rather than a marketing page.

IndeedLinkedInZipRecruiter
What you actually buyPosition in search resultsA recruiter's seat and outbound messagesA fixed monthly slot per open role
Published priceMinimums only: $5 a day or $150 a monthNone ongoing. Recruiter Lite advertises a $0 trialNone at all
Self-serve floorAbout $150 a monthAbout $210 to $300 a month for a promoted jobReported $299 to $399 a month per slot
Floor if jobs arrive via ATS or feed$25 a day per role, about $750 a monthUnchangedUnchanged
Free tierThree posts per calendar month, up to 30 daysOne active job, pauses at 14 daysA short trial only
What ends the free tierTime, and the sponsored listings above yoursAn applicant cap, commonly 10 to 30The trial clock
Disclosed spend per customerNot disclosedNot disclosed$1,669 per quarter, about $556 a month
Is the number predictable?No, it is an auctionPartly, the seat is fixed and the ads are notYes, once quoted

Indeed and LinkedIn figures are carried from our own pages on Indeed job posting cost and LinkedIn job posting cost, checked September 2026. LinkedIn promoted-job pricing is buyer-reported rather than published, so treat it as a range other people were quoted.

Why only one of the three numbers is trustworthy

ZipRecruiter is a public company, so it reports Revenue per Paid Employer as a headline operating metric every quarter. For the quarter ended 30 June 2026 it reported 70,721 quarterly paid employers and $118.1 million of revenue, which is $1,669 per paying employer, or roughly $556 a month. The arithmetic checks out against the income statement, and the figure carries the weight of a filing rather than a blog post.

Two honest caveats before you budget against it. It is a mean across every customer, from a sole trader filling one role to a staffing agency running dozens of slots, so the distribution is skewed upward by large accounts. And the metric counts anyone who paid for at least one day in the quarter, which means employers who joined mid-quarter drag the average down without anyone being charged less. ZipRecruiter itself gave that as the reason the figure slipped this quarter. On balance, $556 a month is closer to a floor on what a committed full-quarter employer pays than to a typical invoice. The six-quarter series is on our ZipRecruiter pricing page.

Indeed discloses nothing per employer, but its parent, Recruit Holdings, told shareholders that average revenue per job in the US rose 17% in the year to March 2026 and is budgeted to rise a further 18% in the year to March 2027. You cannot turn that into a price for your job, but it does tell you the direction, and the direction is up. LinkedIn discloses least of all: Microsoft reports LinkedIn revenue in aggregate and breaks out nothing per hiring customer.

Which is better, Indeed, LinkedIn or ZipRecruiter?

None of them is better in general, and the honest answer sorts on the role rather than the vendor. Three questions settle almost every case.

Do people search for this job title? If yes, Indeed. It carries the largest audience of active job seekers in the United States and its whole model assumes someone is typing your title into a box. If the title is unusual, invented, or internal to your company, that model fails quietly and you pay for clicks from people who were looking for something else.

How much screening time do you have? Indeed's volume is the product, and one-click applications mean it arrives fast. If nobody on your team has days to read it, you are buying a problem. ZipRecruiter deliberately returns fewer, closer-matched candidates because filtering before they reach you is what you are paying it for.

Is the person likely to be employed and not looking? That is LinkedIn's case and its only strong one. Senior, specialised and hard-to-describe roles often sit with people who are not reading job boards at all, and reaching them takes filtered search and direct messages rather than a listing. Posting a job on LinkedIn and waiting is the weakest use of it, and it is also the most common.

We compare the two-way matchups in more depth on Indeed vs LinkedIn and Indeed vs ZipRecruiter.

How much does it cost per hire, not per post?

Per-post pricing is the wrong unit and it is why budgets get missed. What matters is what you spend before someone signs.

On Indeed, employers commonly report $15 to $50 per application once click spend is divided by applications that actually arrive. Multiply that by how many applications you realistically read per hire. If you interview one in twenty and hire one in five of those, a single hire is a hundred applications, which is $1,500 to $5,000 of click spend at those rates. That arithmetic, and how to improve the ratio, is on cost per applicant.

On ZipRecruiter the calculation inverts. The slot cost is fixed, so the cost per hire falls the faster you fill and rises the longer the role stays open. A slot at the reported $299 to $399 that fills in three weeks is cheap. The same slot on a role that drifts for five months is not, and it keeps billing until somebody cancels it.

On LinkedIn the largest line is rarely the ad. A Recruiter seat plus the hours someone spends searching and writing messages is the real cost, and it is a salary cost rather than a marketing one, which is why it often escapes the hiring budget entirely and shows up as a busy recruiter instead.

When a specialist board beats all three

All three are general boards. Remote, in particular, is a filter applied over a mostly on-site inventory, so hybrid roles leak into remote searches, candidates learn to distrust the filter, and a genuinely remote job collects a pile of applications from people who wanted any job at all. You pay for that on Indeed by the click and absorb it everywhere else as screening time.

A specialist board narrows the audience before you pay for it rather than afterward, whether that means remote-only or a single function such as a board that carries marketing roles and nothing else. Fewer readers, but every one of them is there for the thing you are selling. For a fully remote professional role, a listing on this board is $199 a month, every post carries a salary range, listings expire at 30 days so the feed does not fill with roles that closed in April, and there is no auction to monitor and no commission on the hire.

That is not a replacement for Indeed on a high-volume hourly role and we would not claim otherwise. The wider field, board by board, is on Indeed alternatives for employers, and the prices sit side by side on what it costs to post a job.

Are Indeed, LinkedIn and ZipRecruiter owned by the same company?

No, all three have different owners. Indeed is owned by Recruit Holdings, a Japanese group that also owns Glassdoor, which is why a listing on one often appears on the other. LinkedIn is owned by Microsoft. ZipRecruiter is an independent public company listed on the New York Stock Exchange under the ticker ZIP. Seeing the same job on all three usually means the employer posted to all three, or an aggregator indexed it.

Should you post to more than one?

For a hard role, yes, but stagger them rather than running all three at once. Start with the one your three answers above point at, give it two weeks, and read what arrives. Adding a second board on day one makes it impossible to tell which is working, and you pay both while you find out. The exception is a role you have already failed to fill once, where the first attempt has told you what you needed to know and running two in parallel is worth the duplicated spend.

Whichever you pick, the listing itself does more for your applicant quality than the platform does. How to write a remote job description covers the parts that change who applies, and a posted salary range is the single biggest one.

One flat fee, no click auction to supervise

Post a remote role for $199 a month and it stays live until you cancel: salary range required, employer verified by hand, in front of candidates who read a remote-only job board every day. See how it compares on pricing.